If you are selling supplements, you need to be aware of your vegetarian and vegan customers. There are now many people, whether for health, environmental or ethical reasons, avoid animal products in their food as well as nutritional supplements. If you want to market supplements today, you need to research the best vegan multivitamin, vegetarian omega-3 supplements and other alternatives that will appeal to your vegan customers.
Which Supplements Are Appropriate for Vegans?
A reliable guide to vitamins and supplements has to account for customers who don’t consume animal products. Vegan and vegetarian diets are more popular than ever. There’s a whole spectrum when it comes to animal-free diets. Strict vegans avoid anything that has any animal products, including fish, eggs and dairy. Lacto-ovo vegetarians will consume eggs and dairy but no animal flesh. Then there are “pescatarians” who will consume fish but not meat. When it comes to supplements, people will read labels and decide if a product contains any ingredients they want to avoid.
To reach as many customers as possible, it’s a good idea to stock items that appeal to vegans, vegetarians and non-vegetarians. Let’s look at certain popular supplements and the ingredients you need to watch.
Multivitamins are one of the most popular forms of supplement, allowing customers to get as many nutrients as possible in a single serving. Multivitamins contain a large number of ingredients, such as vitamins, minerals, herbs and other nutrients. They may also contain sweeteners, fillers, additives and preservatives. Most manufacturers today will label a product to let you know if it’s appropriate for vegetarians and vegans.
If you’re seeking the best vegan multivitamin, you should study the ingredients and see if it offers the recommended daily allowance (RDA) of many important nutrients. Many vegans are also seeking products that are natural and free of artificial coloring and flavoring.
Fish Oil vs Vegan Omega 3 Supplements
Fish oil products such as krill oil, cod liver oil, salmon oil and many others are good sources of omega 3 fatty acids. These products, however, are derived from fish so they are not suitable for vegans. Some vegetarians consume fish, others don’t. It’s therefore good to find vegetarian omega 3 supplements for customers who avoid fish. Such products may include vegan ingredients such as:
- Chia Seeds
- Hemp Seed
- Algal Oil –This oil is derived from algae and has both EPA and DHA fatty acids.
Gelatin Capsules vs Vegetarian Capsules
When considering vegetarian and vegan supplement consumers, you have to pay attention to how the product is delivered as well as the active ingredients. Capsules are convenient to swallow but many of them are not vegetarian. Gelatin capsules are made from animal parts. Vegans and many vegetarians will avoid anything containing gelatin. If you are selling any products in capsule form, you can look for a vegetarian alternative to gelatin. You can find vegetarian capsules made from plant-derived ingredients. Vegetarian capsules are also usually free from ingredients such as soy, wheat, dairy and corn, which many people also avoid due to allergies.
The Advantages of IcelanDirect Private Label Vegan Supplements
IcelanDirect is a leading private label manufacturer of many supplements, including multivitamins, omega 3 products, gummies, pet supplements and more. They offer both vegetarian and non-vegetarian products in many categories. Private label products allow you to place your brand name on supplements. They can provide you with existing products or create a formula that’s unique to your brand. They also provide vegan supplements that will help you reach a wider customer base.
IcelanDirect is one of the most flexible vegan supplement manufacturers, letting you have a wide choice of delivery systems and packaging options. Whether you’re seeking the best vegan multivitamin, vegetarian omega 3 supplements or other types of supplements for both vegan and non-vegan customers, IcelanDirect provides you with many high-quality options.